Skip to content
February 7, 2011 / Bika

[RP] Say What You Mean

You didn’t think it was over with All the Drinks, did you? There’s more VeldaRyn RP happening all the time. Me and Hammaryn wrote this. I am compelled to share. You’re welcome.

_____________________________________________________

Gravy, the trollish bartender, largely ignored the elves at the end of his bar. They were becoming regulars at an alarming rate and neither were big tippers. The obvious tension between them made him want to spike their drinks and leave them to do whatever business they were too uptight to do on their own, but all the potions he knew of with such effects usually had bizarre side effects that might come back to haunt him later on.

In the meantime, he kept them swimming in alcohol, which was a pretty potent palliative on its own.

Veldarin sat on a barstool, sandwich in hand, chewing hunks of bread and meat in big hungry bites. He was nursing his third hangover in a row and the sense of being very, very dry was starting to feel like a natural state of being. Hammaryn sat at his elbow, tossing back endless shots of licorice-flavored burnwine.

“I’ve been thinking,” he said, and took another bite of his sandwich.

“I’m shocked,” Hammaryn snorted.

“It is my favorite pastime, after reading. And really the two are irrevocably intertwined.” He took a drink of the fruity booze by his plate, which lent a gentle buzz in comparison to the haze of wretched brew of the three nights previous.

“You can’t think like that in battle. You need to learn how to use your instincts. Getting mental will get you killed.”

“Reflex is just thinking sped up,” he said, and grinned at her. Digging around in his pocket, he pulled out a handful of small change and nodded at Gravy for another sandwich.

“It’s not thinking, it’s bodily. Muscle memory.”

“Thinking at a cellular level. It’s fascinating.” He talked around a mouthful of chewy bread and salty meat. “Anyway, as I said I’ve been thinking and I’d like us to be more intimate.”

Hammaryn spat a stream of burnwine on the counter, dropping her shot glass on the ground. “What?!”

He put down his food and knelt to pick up the shards while Gravy sighed. “I said we should be more intimate. Are you all right?”

She stared at Veldarin, caught somewhere between confusion and fury. “What the hell is wrong with you?”

He raised an eyebrow and sat back on his barstool, piling the handful of glass on a napkin. “Is it so strange a concept that someone might enjoy being close to you? It’s not as though I’m asking for sex.” He wiped his hands on his pants and picked up the sandwich again.

She got up off her barstool. “You’re off your fucking rocker. You can’t just ask someone something like that!” Her voice gradually rose in volume.

“I’m not asking for anything, only stating an opinion. I like you and I want to be closer to you.” He shrugged and took a drink of punch.

She started furiously scratching her head with one hand, messing up her hair. “I don’t even know what that means.”

Veldarin scrounged up another handful of change and set it on the bar, compensation for the broken glass and a very modest tip. “Perhaps we should discuss this outside? There is a quiet spot by the pond.”

She scowled and folded her arms over her chest. “Less mess if I decide to beat the shit out of you, too.”

“Well, you were supposed to teach me how to spar while drunk.” He scratched his chin, noting her closed body language. “May I try something without taking a fist to the skull?”

“That depends on what you want to try.”

“It won’t hurt.”

“I have a high tolerance for pain, I doubt you could hurt me. That’s not what I’m worried about.”

“I would like permission to do what a gentleman would do in this situation.”

“You need to tell me what it is, or my arm is about to connect with your ribcage.”

He reached out and gently took her arm. “I’m going to walk you out. Hit if you like, I suppose.”

She yanked her arm away. “You don’t need to walk me out. I can follow you.”

“Sure you can. But this is part of what I mean by intimacy. It’s enjoyable–to me, at least. I think you might enjoy it as well if you allowed it.”

“I’m too pissed off right now.”

“Come along, then.” Veldarin strolled leisurely out of the tavern and down the steps with his hands in his pockets. He’d had most of two drinks and felt pleasantly warm.

Hammaryn stomped after him, her arms still crossed over her chest as they stepped out onto the dirt-packed road.

“Sex is very distracting,” he said as he walked along toward the shore of Orgimmar’s fishing pond. “I’ve considered it and decided I am not terribly interested in jumping into anything like that. However, I believe that kissing and touching are among the more interesting social displays and have certain beneficial effects on both body and spirit.”

“So you’re saying that you want to kiss me.”

He grinned. “It’s immaterial unless I have your explicit permission. I am not a coward, but I am not stupid either.”

She took a deep breath. “Veldarin, I…don’t think that you’re bad. I might even actually like you.”

“That’s encouraging news. I like you too, though I suppose that’s obvious by now.”

“There’s something I should tell you, about the first night you got drunk.”

He settled down on the packed dirt of the shore and leaned back on his hands. “I’m all ears.”

Hammaryn sat down next to him, leaving some space between. “I kissed you on the forehead, before you fell all the way asleep.”

“I know.” He grinned at her. “I told you to do it again, but you left.”

She frowned. “You weren’t supposed to know about that. I thought you were too drunk to notice.”

“My mental faculties were certainly impaired, but I remember most of the evening. And I liked being kissed.”

“I couldn’t understand what you were saying.”

“Would you have done it if you had?”

She scratched at her head again. “Maybe.”

“What about now?” He smiled at her.

“You could have gone about this better, you know.”

“Perhaps, but I prefer to be straightforward.”

“In the middle of the bar, in the middle of my drink. And saying you want to be intimate is the not the same as saying you’d like to kiss,” she said.

He managed to look almost indignant. “Kissing is very intimate!”

“That is not what I thought you meant.”

“Well, now you know. You still haven’t said either way what you think of it.”

Hammaryn sat up perfectly straight. “I am amenable to the idea.”

“So come here.” He leaned over toward her ever so slightly, trying hard not to grin.

“This is just a kiss, right? Nothing else.”

“Nothing else.”

Hammaryn took another deep breath. “Fine.”

“Relax. I promise it won’t be completely awful,” he said, and kissed her softly on the mouth.

She leaned into the kiss, running a hand through his hair before she pulled away. “I hope you haven’t been practicing.”

“Not in ages.” He smiled and bumped shoulders with her. “You’ll just have to tolerate my rusty skills.”

She smiled at him. “I didn’t say I liked it so much that I’d allow it again.”

“That would make it very difficult to conduct a long-term experiment.”

“I guess you’ll have to get Dorri’tow to yell at me.”

“I wasn’t aware Dorri’tow had any authority over your love life,” he teased.

“She doesn’t, she’s just awfully fond of yelling at me,” Hammaryn said.

“I think she yells at everyone but me.”

Hammaryn frowned. “How the hell do you get away with it?”

“I am subtly aggravating.”

“I don’t think she cares whether someone is subtle or not,” she said.

“Perhaps she just hasn’t noticed yet.”

“So the real question here is how I get her pissed off at you.”

“Is this a game now?” Veldarin reached over and gave her a playful pinch. “I like being in someone’s good graces for once.”

Hammaryn slapped his arm. “Don’t pinch me. And it could be a game, actually. Although I doubt I’d want to deal with Keltyr”

“Keltyr? How so?”

“I don’t think he’d take kindly to making a game out of pissing Dorri’tow off.”

“Anyone but himself, you mean.”

She smiled. “Exactly.”

“It sounds like something that would require a lot of time and energy. May I suggest spending it elsewhere..?” He waggled his eyebrows at her.

She shoved him. “Don’t get ahead of yourself.”

He took it with a good-natured chuckle. “I would much rather you got up to mischief with me than with her, that’s all.”

She tilted her head to one side. “I could go for that.”

“I’m glad we got this settled, then. I have bad news, though.” He frowned.

Hammaryn’s eyebrows knitted together. “What is it?”

“I seem to be sobering up. Race you to the bar,” he said, jumping to his feet and darting away before the challenge was entirely out of his mouth.

Leave a Reply

